And the winners are…


The HMO Awards for 2023-2024 has recognised the innovators and leaders within the House in Multiple Occupation (HMO) sector.

The event, which took place in Buckinghamshire, recognised outstanding contributions from individuals and businesses to the management and development of HMO properties.

Held for a second time at Stowe School, the ceremony brought together nearly 400 industry professionals to celebrate achievements in various categories.

The event was filled with networking opportunities, insightful TED-style talks by industry leaders, panel discussions on the future of HMOs, and the recognition of excellence at the awards ceremony. Notable award categories included “Best Agency,” “Best HMO Investor”, “Best Community Experience”, “Creating a Sustainable Future”, and the “Lifetime Achievement” award.

The standard of entries were exceptionally high this year, reflecting the sector’s rapid evolution. A panel of 17 judges, all well-known and respected in the industry, meticulously reviewed submissions to select the winners of 18 categories.

Winners of the 23/24 HMO Awards:

Best Agency: Babouris – Alex Babouris, for providing an exceptional service for landlords and tenants, whilst being laser focussed on compliance, training and development and business growth.

Best HMO Investor: Luxome – Punk Takiar, for prudent risk management whilst delivering above-market returns.

Best Community Experience: B-Hive Living – Williams Johnson Mota, for creating thriving communities and providing a solid customer experience within their HMO portfolio.

Best Commercial to HMO Conversion: Fraser Besant, for undertaking a relatively recent project utilising his skill and knowledge with commercial buildings coupled with HMO regulations, and raising standards and compliance within the HMO and Coliving sector.

Creating a Sustainable Future: FAT Properties – Tom Charrier & Philippa Charrier, for creating and managing an HMO that positively contributes to the local community and economy whilst protecting and enhancing the environment.

Lifetime Achievement Award: HMO Reform Group – Daryn Brewer, Wendy Whittaker-Large and Matt Baker, for tirelessly campaigning to change the law on council tax being imposed on individual rooms in HMOs, and for winning the fight! The Government is now set to axe multiple council tax bills on HMO properties.

Vann Vogstad, CEO of COHO, which hosted the event, commented “The HMO Awards are a testament to the hard work and dedication of professionals in the HMO sector. It’s such a privilege for my team and I to host this event, aimed at supporting and recognising the innovation and excellence of everyone operating in this industry.”

Gary Barker, COO/CTO at the TM Group and one of this year’s judges, added: “The calibre of entries this year was mind-blowing and choosing the winners was by no means an easy task. There are so many incredible people investing their all in this industry, drowning out the noise of the few bad apples damaging the industry reputation. At this rate we will soon see a monumental shift in how people view the HMO community.”

For the full list of winners, click here.

Daily news email from EYE

Enter your email below to receive the latest news each morning direct to your inbox.